The Winged Foot Award

Congratulations to Baylor University's Kim Mulkey and the University of Virginia's Tony Bennett, who led their teams to the 2019 Women's and Men's NCAA Division I Basketball Championships. The Club will honor these two coaches at the Winged Foot Award Banquet on Wednesday, May 8th.

2018 Winged Foot Award

The NYAC will celebrate of the magical seasons of coaches Tony Bennett and Kim Mulkey. Basketball dignitaries, local area coaches and staff and alumni from both UVA and Baylor Universities will be in attendance.

This is the 24th occasion on which the NYAC pays tribute to the finest coaches in college basketball by presenting them with the prestigious Winged Foot Award. It is a privilege to continue this tradition by honoring the 2019 winners of the NCAA Division I Basketball Tournaments: Tony Bennett, Men's Head Basketball Coach of the University of Virginia, and Kim Mulkey, Baylor University's Women's Head Basketball Coach. In addition to celebrating the victories of Coach Bennett, Coach Mulkey and their teams, the Club acknowledges the contributions that these coaches make to the lives of their players and their respective schools.

ESPN New York

Past Winners

Dawn Staley

University of South Carolina - 2017

Kevin Ollie

University of Connecticut - 2014

Jay Wright

Villanova - 2016, 2018

Rick Pitino

University of Kentucky, University of Louisville - 1996 & 2013

Geno Auriemma

University of Connecticut - 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2009, 2010, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016

Kim Mulkey

Baylor University - 2005 & 2012

John Calipari

University of Kentucky - 2012

Jim Calhoun

University of Connecticut - 1999, 2004, 2011

Gary Blair

Texas A&M University - 2011

Roy Williams

University of North Carolina - 2008 & 2017

Bill Self

University of Kansas - 2008

Billy Donovan

University of Florida - 2006 & 2007

Pat Summitt

University of Tennessee - 2007 & 2008

Brenda Frese

University of Maryland - 2006

Jim Boeheim

Syracuse University - 2003

Gary Williams

University of Maryland - 2002

Mike Krzyewski

Duke University - 2001, 2010 & 2015

Muffet McGraw

University of Notre Dame - 2001, 2018

Tom Izzo

Michigan State University - 2000

Carolyn Peck

Purdue University - 1999

Tubby Smith

University of Kentucky - 1998

Lute Olson

University of Arizona - 1997


Tim Burns

Tim Burns graduated from George Mason University in 2007. He was a member of the 2006 Final Four team coached by Jim Larranaga, current head coach at the University of Miami.

Upon graduating from George Mason, Tim moved to NYC to pursue a career in player development.

Since 2011, Tim has worked extensively with the District Attorney's office on the "Saturday Night Lights" program. Aimed at keeping youth in neighborhoods of high crime off the street, the program offers free basketball training and mentoring year-round.

Since 2013, Tim has worked with Excel Sports Agency to facilitate Pre-Draft training, which has featured multiple lottery and first and second round draft picks.

Tim has been involved with the basketball program at the NYAC since 2014, winning the National Championship as an assistant coach and also as a player.



  • Nate Brown
  • Pawel Buczak
  • Zahir Carrington
  • Ben Hazel
  • Greg Kelley
  • Gabe Knutson
  • Nate Lubick
  • Kareem Maddox
  • Craig Moore
  • Marcus Stout
  • Jason Westrol
  • Jesse Winter