Campbell Trophy

Presented By The National Football Foundation And Hosted By The New York Athletic Club.

The New York Athletic Club is thrilled to be the new host of the prestigious William V. Campbell Trophy, which honors college football's best student-athlete. The partnership was officially announced on Wednesday, December 11th, at a luncheon honoring the 2013 Campbell Trophy winner, John Urschel. On December 17th, Urschel was named to the Associated Press All-America (third team), honoring the best college football players in the nation.


2022 Campbell Trophy® recipient Jack Campbell (Iowa).



Campbell Award accordion

Campbell Award accordion

Past Recipients

  • Chris Howard (Air Force, 1990 - University Executive Vice President)
  • Brad Culpepper (Florida, 1991 - Attorney)
  • Jim Hansen (Colorado, 1992 - Climatologist)
  • Thomas Burns (Virginia, 1993 - Engineering Executive)
  • Robert Zatechka (Nebraska, 1994 - Physician)
  • Bobby Hoying (Ohio State, 1995 - Real Estate Executive)
  • Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1996 - Non-Profit Executive Director)
  • Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997 - TV Personality & Philanthropist)
  • Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1998 - Insurance Executive & TV Broadcaster)
  • Chad Pennington (Marshall, 1999 - High School Football Coach)
  • Kyle Vanden Bosch (Nebraska, 2000 - Youth Football Coach)
  • Joaquin Gonzalez (Miami [FL], 2001 - Corporate Executive)
  • Brandon Roberts (Washington University in St. Louis [MO], 2002 - Physician)
  • Craig Krenzel (Ohio State, 2003 - Insurance Executive)
  • Michael Munoz (Tennessee, 2004 - Sports & Entertainment Executive)
  • Rudy Niswanger (LSU, 2005 - Corporate Executive)
  • Brian Leonard (Rutgers University, 2006 - Real Estate Executive)
  • Dallas Griffin (Texas, 2007 - Corporate Executive)
  • Alex Mack (California, 2008 - NFL Player)
  • Tim Tebow (Florida, 2009 - Non-Profit Chairman & TV Broadcaster)
  • Sam Acho (Texas, 2010 - Humanitarian & TV Broadcaster)
  • Andrew Rodriguez (Army West Point, 2011 - U.S. Army Captain & Graduate Student)
  • Barrett Jones (Alabama, 2012 - Financial Advisor & Broadcaster)
  • John Urschel (Penn State, 2013 – Mathematician)
  • David Helton (Duke, 2014 - MBA Candidate)
  • Ty Darlington (Oklahoma, 2015 - College Football Assistant Coach)
  • Zach Terrell (Western Michigan, 2016 - Executive Development Associate)
  • Micah Kiser (Virginia, 2017 - NFL Player)
  • Christian Wilkins (Clemson, 2018 - NFL Player)
  • Justin Herbert (Oregon, 2019 - NFL Player)
  • Brady White (Memphis, 2020 - Doctoral Student)
  • Charlie Kolar (Iowa State, 2021 - NFL Player)
  • Jack Campbell (Iowa, 2022 - NFL Player)
  • Bo Nix (Oregon, 2023 - NFL Player)

About the NFF & College Hall of Fame

Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the Chick-fil-A College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Future for Football, The William V. Campbell Trophy®, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments and a series of initiatives to honor the legends of the past and inspire the leaders of the future. NFF corporate partners include Catapult, Delta Air Lines, Fidelity Investments, Goodyear, Jostens, the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority, the New York Athletic Club and the Sports Business Journal. Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter @NFFNetwork and learn more at footballfoundation.org.

About the National College Football Awards Association

The William V. Campbell Trophy® is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about the association.

Side Navigation