New York Athletic Club basketball team


The New York Athletic Club basketball team is made up of former professional and high level college players. The team competes in several major tournaments each year, including the National Club championships and has traveled as far as China to compete in their 'Friendship Games'. The NYAC basketball team has won nine out of the last twelve National Club Championships (NACAD Tournament).

For more information about the NYAC Basketball team, please contact Joe Mangan at

  • Coaches
    • Ross Burns
      Ross Burns graduated from the University of Massachusetts in 1999, where he was a combo guard under current Kentucky Coach John Calipari. He was a member of the 1995-96 NCAA Final Four team. During Ross' time with the team, UMass enjoyed three trips to the NCAA tournament. Following his playing career, Ross spent seven seasons as a Division I college coach.

      During his first stint at Wagner College in 2000, Ross earned his MBA while serving as a full-time assistant. He moved on to be an assistant coach at Youngstown State and, later, the Associate Head Coach at Fordham University. Fordham recorded the top recruiting class in the Atlantic 10 Conference in 2004.

      In 2006, Ross joined Pro Hoops. Since that time he has worked closely with founder Jay Hernandez to build Pro Hoops into the premier basketball training company on the east coast.

      In 2008, Ross traveled with the NBA international staff to run various coaches' clinics in several cities throughout India.

      In 2011, Ross spearheaded a partnership between Pro Hoops, the New York County District Attorney’s Office, the NYPD, and the Police Athletic League (P.A.L.) to offer “Drill & Play” as a weekly program. The program offers teenagers living in neighborhoods of high youth crime and violence a safe and positive place to receive exceptional basketball training when they need it most, during the evening hours of the weekend.
  • Team Schedule
    • NACAD Tournament

      Nike Pro City Tournament
      July - August


      Monday, Tuesday and Thursday: 8pm - 10pm

  • Roster
    • John Baumann
      Nate Brown
      Pawal Buczak
      Zahir Carrington
      Colin Cunningham
      Keenan Jeppesen
      Nate Lubick
      Mark MacDonald
      Matt Minoff
      Craig Moore
      Paul Vitelli

  • Program Highlights
      • North American Association of Club Athletic Directors Tournament - Champions 9 out of the last 12 years
      • Undefeated Champions of the Humphrey Thompson Cup
  • Photos / Videos
    • _C5C1567.jpg